Saving Money While Saving Nature – One Rechargeable Battery At A Time

Well, this post is not exactly about saving energy. But it is still about conservation in general, while still trying to save money. I am no die hard tree hugger. Yet I dislike wasteful use. And if we can actually save money while being a good to nature, then why not?

Consider this scenario. I pick up my CD player and find that the batteries are discharged. I run to the nearest store. I need two batteries, but they carry only four or eight or twenty packs. I buy a four pack. After coming home, I replace the battery and off I go.

Couple of months down the line, the batteries are down again. I search for the remaining two batteries from the four pack I bought last time. Sometimes I find. Sometimes I don’t. Then I run to the store again.

One time it is CD player that takes AA batteries, next time it is the clock on the wall that needs AAA batteries. Next time it is the toy that needs AA batteries. One after another the instruments demands and I supply new juice. I pick the old batteries and throw in dustbin.

In an year, I spend of order of 100 US$ on batteries. Torch, Radio, CD/MP3 player, Clocks, Toys, Cameras, the list does not seem to end. And do not consider myself to be heavy user of batteries.

If you don’t believe it, check out your expenses for last year. You might be doing the same thing. Make sure you scanned your expenses for almost entire year, or at-least six months. Battery expenses seem to be a little erratic. I have high battery expenses as summer approaches, perhaps because I do a lot of outdoor activities.

This article and this article show that using rechargeable batteries results in significant money saving. One rechargeable battery can be usually be cycled around 300 to 500 times.

Let us do some cost comparison. This page on Amazon shows that four pack of AA rechargeable batteries costs about $10 and charger for them costs about $20 (the charger same charger can be used to charge several types of batteries). Whereas four pack of single use AA Duracell batteries costs about $4.00.

So initial expense of rechargeable batteries is about $30, vs. initial expense on single use battery is about $4.00. So if you used your rechargeable batteries through mere 7-8 cycles, you break even. If you used rechargeable batteries through 50 cycles, which is about 10% of their life, you already saved approx. 150-170 Rs.

And also the following the perks are included

  • Not having to run to the store at 11th hour,
  • Conserving the natural resources spent in manufacturing, transporting, storing, and disposing the batteries. Americans purchase nearly 3 billion solid state batteries per year, creating about 1,00,000 tons of waste and pollution hazard for improperly disposed batteries. It takes natural resources to mine the metal, to synthesize chemicals. It takes gas to transport 100,000 tons from factory to store and from dustbin to dumping ground. All these resources and efforts can be saved and put to more productive or higher priority use, while still saving money per household.

~ by Kedar on May 9, 2007.

One Response to “Saving Money While Saving Nature – One Rechargeable Battery At A Time”

  1. […] Batteries? How about no batteries? I already have a post on my blog about rechargeable batteries and how they can save you money at the same time reducing environmental […]

Leave a Reply

 
